The Four Aims of Life- Levelling Up

you've changed image


These personal journeys that we’re all on have us questioning who we are, what are we doing here, and how do we serve. The more I’ve realized that I’m the one responsible for these, then more I’ve restructured myself to:

  • developing a secure relationship with myself through integrity,
  • living a life that’s a reflection of the richness I have inside,
  • having as much FUN as possible to feel fully alive and appreciative of the gift of life, and
  • surrendering and fully aligning with the will of spirit.

Today I came across The Four Aims of life, which are the four goals that Hindus pursue, known as  chaturvarga. Amazingly they’re completely where I’m at on my journey! What’s beautiful is had I read them before discovering them on my own, I wouldn’t have resonated. I needed to uncover them within myself to integrate them first and now I can fully relate to them! It’s also comforting to know that because there’s an entire tradition devoted to this way of life,  I’m clearly not alone on this journey and I’m very much on the right path.


The Four Aims of Life

Dharma (duty). Dharma can be translated as “truth,” “righteousness,” and “religion,” and all of those meanings coincide in the sense of one’s moral and spiritual duty.

Artha (material gain). Contrary to popular opinion, the Hindus do not look askance at success, wealth, or possessions, but merely seek to keep them in their proper place. One of the duties of a householder, for instance, is to begin each day pondering how to improve both dharma and artha.

Kama (physical and sense pleasures). Hindus also embrace the enjoyment of earthly pleasures, including sexuality, food, music, and the arts, during the second stage of life.

Moksha (release or salvation). The fourth goal parallels the fourth stage of life, representing the end to which all Hindu life aspires.


I’d love to hear from those on a similar journey!

Erika Babe